Log in

Canadian Society of

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Log in

Senior Investigator Award

The Senior Investigator Award is designed to stimulate and recognize research in the field of basic or clinical pharmacology. It is awarded annually, to a member in good standing of the Canadian Society for Pharmacology and Therapeutics, for significant contributions to the advancement and extension of knowledge in the field.


$1,000 CAD cash prize and engraved plaque


1. Award candidates must be CSPT members in good standing at the time of nomination and at the time of award presentation.

2. Recipient to describe research achievements in an oral presentation at the CSPT annual meeting.


Made by any two members of the society. No member may nominate more than one candidate. Nominations shall include all of the following:

1. A joint letter of nomination or two individual letters of nomination, prepared by the sponsors, describing the nominee’s work and its importance to furthering the field. A maximum of two pages is allowed for each letter of nomination.

2. A maximum of two published or in press manuscripts considered pertinent to the nomination. A brief justification for their inclusion should be provided in the nomination package.

3. The nominee’s brief curriculum vitae (maximum ten pages). Ensure the following items are included:

  • current institutional affiliations
  • education and training
  • employment experience
  • awards and honours
  • a list/description of the Nominee’s most important contributions (e.g. research grants, publications, research, presentations) to basic and/or clinical pharmacology.

4. Up to two additional letters of support describing the impact of the nominee’s research. These may be from society non-members. A maximum of two pages is allowed for each letter of support. 

5. A brief biographical sketch (maximum 300 words) suitable for inclusion in a press release.


January 15, 2024


Send nomination package to and direct to the attention of the Chair of the Awards Committee.


The decision of the Awards Committee shall be final. There will be no obligation or duty on the part of CSPT to bestow the award in the absence of a qualified recipient or when there is an insufficient number of nominees as determined by the Awards Committee.

Recent Award Winners

2022  Bruno Giros

2021  Susan E. Howlett

2020   Anna Taddio

2019   Qingping Feng

2018   Peter Chidiac

2017   Anne-Noël Samaha

2016   Shinya Ito

2014   Richard Kim

2013   Peter Smith

2012   Rachel Tyndale

2011   Bruce Carleton

Copyright© 2020

Canadian Society of Pharmacology and Therapeutics (CSPT)

All rights reserved.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software