Log in

Canadian Society of

Pharmacology and Therapeutics

Log in

Board of directors

Brad Urquhart, PhD (London, Ontario) – President

Brad Urquhart is Associate Professor in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology and Associate Dean, Basic Medical Sciences Undergraduate Education at Western University. Brad has previously served on the CSPT scientific program committee and is currently the treasurer of CSPT. His research investigates mechanisms for variability in drug response and toxicity in kidney disease.

Dylan Burger, PhD (Ottawa, Ontario) - President-elect & Scientific Program Committee Chair

Dylan Burger (PhD, ISHF) is a Senior Scientist at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute and Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa (Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine). His research focuses on understanding the molecular underpinnings of diabetes and hypertension and their associated cardiovascular complications. In particularly he has been active in the study of extracellular vesicles as markers and mediators of vascular and renal injury for more than 10 years. He has authored more than 70 manuscripts and has received several awards including the 2016 Canadian Society of Nephrology New Investigator Lectureship and the 2018 University of Ottawa Department of Medicine PhD Scientist Award. He is the current Chair of Communications for the International Society of Hypertension. Dr. Burger is a founding member of The Lancet Commission on Hypertension and Associate Editor for the European Heart Journal and the Journal of Extracellular Vesicles.

Bruce Carleton, PharmD, FCP, FISPE (Vancouver, British Columbia) – Past-President

Bruce Carleton is Professor and Chair, Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Department of Pediatrics, University of British Columbia. He is a Senior Clinician Scientist at the BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute. He is also the CEO of the Canadian Pharmacogenomics Network for Drug Safety. He has a keen interest in advancing the safe and effective use of drugs, particularly in children. He is passionate about caring for kids.

Donald Miller, PhD (Winnipeg, Manitoba) – Treasurer

Don Miller is a Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Therapeutics and Principal Investigator in the Kleysen Institute for Advanced Medicine at the University of Manitoba. Don is a member of the scientific programming and outreach committees. His research focuses on blood-brain barrier transport and drug permeability and on improving therapeutic outcomes for various neurological disorders.

Kerry Goralski, PhD (Halifax, Nova Scotia) – ASPET Liaison 

Kerry Goralski is a professor in the College of Pharmacy, Dalhousie University. He has a cross-appointment to the Department of Pharmacology and Department of Pediatrics, Dalhousie University and an Affiliated Research Staff Appointment in the Division of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology at the IWK Health Centre. He is a Senior Scientist in the Beatrice Hunter Cancer Research Institute. His research interests include obesity-associated cancers, multi-drug resistant metastatic breast cancer, and pharmacogenomics and precision medicine. He has been a member of the PSC/CSPT since 1996.

Abby Collier, PhD (Vancouver, British Columbia) – Awards Committee Chair

Fabiana Crowley, PhD (London, Ontario) – Education Committee Chair

Fabiana Crowley is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology and the Physiology and Pharmacology discipline lead of the Undergraduate Medical Program at Western University. Her responsibilities include teaching basic and clinical pharmacology to medical and dental students, directing courses and supporting/leading curriculum development for the medical program. Fabiana is passionate about pharmacology education and strives to create an integrated, learner-centered pharmacology curriculum. Her research interests include approaches to teaching prescribing skills, use of simulation to teach basic & clinical pharmacology, competency-based and case-based education.

Michael Rieder, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FAAP, FRPC (Edinburgh, UK) (London, Ontario) – History Committee Chair

Michael Rieder holds the CIHR-GSK Chair in Paediatric Clinical Pharmacology at Western University in London and is a Scientist at the Robarts Research Institute. He is the Past President of CSPT and a member of the Drug Therapy Committee of the Canadian Paediatric Society. His research focus is on mechanistic studies of serious adverse drug reactions and drug safety as well as for optimal drug therapy for children.  

Doreen Matsui, MD, FRCPC (London, Ontario) – Director-at-Large & Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Liaison

Doreen Matsui is Professor Emeritus, Department of Paediatrics, Western University. She is a member of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) Specialty Committee in Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology. Doreen is also a member of the RCPSC Examination Board in Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology as Past-Chair.

Jill Rourke, PhD (Sackville, New Brunswick) - Publications Committee Chair

Amit Bhavsar, PhD (Edmonton, Alberta) - Outreach Committee Chair

Dr. Amit Bhavsar is an Assistant Professor and Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in the department of Medical Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Alberta. Dr. Bhavsar has a long-standing interest in anti-microbial resistance. His doctoral studies were in novel antimicrobial target discovery in Eric Brown's lab, and his postdoctoral training studied bacterial pathogenesis in Brett Finlay's lab. Dr. Bhavsar's lab studies the molecular mechanisms of how bacterial effector proteins subvert the immune system. This work will produce anti-virulence targets that exert less selective pressure for the development of resistance. This approach provides a precise alternative to antibiotic use.

Copyright© 2020

Canadian Society of Pharmacology and Therapeutics (CSPT)

All rights reserved.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software